To encourage you, lift you up, and make you smile.

My last post was about feelings and whether they are good or bad. If you read it, you know I was really struggling for the answer. I was “troubled.” Over the last few days, I have had some clarity that I want to share with you.

The Bible warns against being troubled, or letting your heart be troubled. Twice in the 14th chapter of John, Jesus says, “Do not let your hearts be troubled.” He adds, “Trust in God, trust also in me;” “Do not be afraid;” and “Peace I leave with you.” Clearly, Jesus did not intend for us to be troubled. And he indicates that we have control over that! He is telling US to not let our hearts be troubled, so WE are in control of that. But HOW do we do that?

Although I discussed emotions and feelings in the last post, I never came to a conclusion as to whether feelings were good or bad, or IF we are able to control them! Given a week to ponder and listen to the promptings of the Holy Spirit, I believe we CAN control those feelings. However, I believe it takes practice….like most things in life…in order for us to get good at controlling them.

I believe that how we FEEL is tied directly to what we THINK. What are you thinking about right now? How are you feeling right now? Are those two things related? I think so. And if this is the case, then I have good news.

I have a verse written on a postcard and taped to the window in front of my desk. It says, “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Romans 12:2

If we just RENEW OUR MIND, then we can TRANSFORM what we THINK AND how we FEEL!!! Wow! Wow! Wow!!! We have control!! So……how do we renew our mind? That’s easy…read on!

You renew your mind by meditating on good things. A great friend of our family named Frank has a phrase that he uses all the time to describe this concept, “Garbage in….garbage out!” In other words, if you allow garbage into your mind, then garbage will come out of your mouth. In the contrary, if you meditate on good things, people will be able to see that in you as well.

The Bible encourages us to meditate on the Word day and night. It even goes so far as to say that is the key to being prosperous! Can you think of anything better than the Word of God to meditate on? I can’t! So your homework for today is to make a few notecards with verses on them….verses that encourage you or contain promises from God. Then begin to read them daily, meditating on them. Here are a few of my favorites:

Joshua 1:8 “Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

James 4:2 “You do not have because you do not ask God.”

Proverbs 10:22 “The blessing of the Lord brings wealth, and He adds no trouble to it.”

Ephesians 3:20 “God is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to Hie power that is at work within us.”

Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

John 14: 27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,023 other followers

